Home Page

St Luke's Governing Body

Welcome to St Luke's School Governing Body

Our Governing Body constitution consists of nine governors, made up of two parent governors, one local authority governor, the Headteacher, two co-opted governors, and two foundation governors. Please find below further details of our Governing body, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Michael Fleming - Local Authority Governor and Chair of Governors

Mike Fleming is Chair of Governors. He is a Local Authority Governor, Chair of the Resources Committee and Chair of the Performance Management and Pay Committee. He is also a member of the Education and Behaviour Committee and the Designated Safeguarding Lead for the Governing Body. Nominated by the Local Authority, he was appointed to the Governing Body on 14th March 2016 and his term of office ends on 13th March 2020.

Ian Burnham - Foundation Governor

Ian Burnham is a Foundation Governor and a member of the Resources Committee and the Performance Management and Pay Committee. He was appointed by the Diocese of Winchester on 16th July 2019 and his term of office ends on 15th July 2023.  

Rachel Goplen - Headteacher

Rachel Goplen joined the Governing Body in 2005 and is a member of all Committees, the Education and Behaviour Committee, Resources and Performance Management Committee.

Vacancy - Co-opted Governor

We currently have a vacancy for a Co-opted governor.

Jacqui Good - Co-opted Governor

Jacqui Good is a Co-opted Governor. She is a member of the Education and Behaviour Management Committee. She was appointed by the Governing Body on 21st November 2016 and her term of office comes to an end on 21st November 2020.

Reverend Jane Mitchell - Foundation Governor

By virtue of her office, the vicar at St Luke's Church is a Foundation Governor. Reverend Jane Mitchell joined our Governing Body on Thursday 8th August 2019.


Claire Vincent - Staff Governor

Elected by school staff, Claire Vincent, joined the governing body on Wednesday 21st September 2016. Her term of office ends on 20th September 2020. She is a member of the Education and Behaviour Committee. 

John Leavey- Parent Governor

John Leavey is a parent governor. Elected by parents, he took up office on 8th October 2018. His term of office ends on 7th October 2022. He is a member of the Education and Behaviour Committee. He is also responsible for monitoring Health and Safety.

Mike Worsley - Parent Governor

Mike Worsley is a parent governor.  Elected by parents, he joined the Governing Body on 2nd July 2018. His term of office ends on 1st July 2022. He is a member of the Education and Behaviour Committee.

Gwynne Kynaston - Clerk

Gwynne Kynaston is clerk to the Governing Body.


Our Register of Governor Pecuniary Interests and Attendance information is outlined below. The Attendance information relates to the number of meetings individual governors should have attended in 2018 -2019 and the number of meetings attended.


Pecuniary Interest Disclosed

Date of Signing Attendance at Meetings 2018-2019
Janet Kirk Owner of Janet Kirk Floral Designs 20/11/2018

2 out of 9 meetings attended.   22%

Tricia Owen None 20/11/2018 4 out of 6 meetings attended.    66%
Rachel Goplen Employed at the school / Ofsted Inspector 20/11/2018 9 out of 9 meetings attended.     100%
Mike Worsley None 20/11/2018 5 out of 6 meetings attended.      83%
Mike Fleming None 20/11/2018 8 out of 8 meetings attended.      100%
Heather Proffitt None 20/11/2018 8 out of 9 meetings attended        88%
John Leavey None 20/11/2018 4 out of 6 meetings attended.       66%
Jacqui Good Ofsted Inspector 20/11/2018 5 out of 6 meetings attended.       83%
Claire Vincent None 20/11/2018 5 out of 6 meetings attended.       83%


'The governors are very capable and committed and have a very clear

understanding of the school's strengths and weaknesses' - OFSTED